Masaki Memorial House Shuoku, Chumo...

  • 腰掛待合



NameMasaki Memorial House Shuoku, Chumon, Koshikake-Machiai (main building, middle gate, waiting pavilion)
Address2-9-26 Tadaokanaka, Tadaoka-cho, Semboku-gun, Osaka
Architecture ageShuoku:Syowa 24/Syowa 27 Renonatoon   1949/1952 Renonatoon修 Chumon, Koshikake-Machiai:Syowa 27 1952
Building type Residential buildings
ConstructionShuoku:Wooden house, kawara-buki tiled roof, 208㎡ Chumon:Wooden gate, hiwada-buki, entrance 0.9m Koshikake-Machiai:Wooden house, Copper sheet roof, 5.0㎡
Outline explanationIn 1968, museum founder Takayuki Masaki (1895-1985) donated the art, land, and buildings that he had collected over many years, and founded “Masaki Art Museum.” Within this complex, the Masaki Memorial House serves to connect the museum with tea ceremony rooms. From 1949 to 1952 he designed and built this house in Tadaoka-cho through the experience he gathered in the construction industry. In the main building, the three rooms are arranged along the engawa, a corridor lined in wood boards. He made the tea rooms of three tatami mats and six tatami mats which he named “Tekitoan” by his Gago (pseudonym). The interior illustrates the sophistication of a traditional Japanese house. Takayuki who was a chajin (master of tea ceremony) of Mushanokoji-senke and made the Amigasamon as the Chumon, the middle gate of the roji (garden) path. It is called this because the roof resembles an amigasa, a large hat made of woven bamboo. It is a simple construction of vertical and horizontal bamboo sticks designed to allow views to the path beyond. He created a peaceful harmony in the roji with Amigasamon and Koshikake-Machiai (a simple styled bench for guests to wait for a tea ceremony). Currently, the buildings are owned and used by the museum.
Cultural property type Registered Tangible Cultural Properties
Event link
open to the public
notePlease contact the Masaki Art Museum and confirm the open date and time. Only portions of the house are available for you.